Going Down Under

…My life abroad

I think everyone should put a large picture of their dog on the side of their home… July 20, 2007

Filed under: Thoughts Before Leaving — Andrea @ 12:46 pm

So I found out something really hilarious about the house where I’m living for the next 5 months.  I put a picture of my host family a couple posts ago so you can see what they look like.  As you can see, they’re an older couple.  Well, their one son and his wife have an apartment in the same building, just on the top floor.  They also host a student.  It’s kind of a cool setup because that way I’ll have another American living in the same building as me and hopefully we can ride the bus together and stuff.  But anyways, Kaelie, my friend who lived with this same family last semester, took a picture of the house.  When I first saw it, I laughed so hard because I could not figure out why there was this huge picture of two cocker spaniels on the front of the house.  I mean have you ever heard of someone doing that before?   I asked my friend Sue about it, who also lived with my host family a few years back, and she said that this couple upstairs is like reaaaally into show dogs.  and get this: They were the first people to bring golden retrievers to Ecuador.  I kid you not.  What a claim to fame! Haha.  But Sue said I should expect to be attending at least one dog show during my stay.  Oh boy.  And we all know how much I love animals…. can you sense the sarcasm here….

I’ll post a picture here so you can see it.

So the next time you think you really love your dog, ask yourself, “How can I do more to show my dog how much I care about it?” and maybe you will find yourself hanging a huge picture of it from YOUR front door. 

 

One Response to “I think everyone should put a large picture of their dog on the side of their home…”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    everytime i think about you leaving, i cry. it’s uncontrolable… and i have a feeling it’s gonna get worse. you are a peach, and i love you.


Leave a comment